alittlek’s space


Baby Laura’s Blanket
May 9, 2010, 5:28 pm
Filed under: Life, Misc.

I think it’s time to get a sewing machine of my own. Amazingly, a friend has been willing to lend me his – but after accomplishing several crafty projects recently and really enjoying the fruits of my labor, I’ll keep my eyes open for a good deal.

My latest project was quilting a baby blanket for friends, Marian and Thomas, and their wonderful new addition, Baby Laura. Of course, when I first purchased the materials I didn’t know the sex of the baby, so I went with a fairly neutral look. I think, however, that despite the bright reds, blues, and greens, it is fairly feminine. Maybe it’s the pink strawberries? In the end, it turned out just perfect!

For the front, I sewed the patches together and then settled on a soft, velvety, bright red for the back. In fact, it was Nico that picked it out…all on his own! One day after work he stopped by JoAnn’s Fabrics and skimmed the shelves for the perfect color and fabric. Armed with a good sense of fashion and his cell phone, he did it! I was so impressed.

Baby Laura was born on April 21st at 3:06pm. She weighed in at 8lbs, 15ozs – the same weight I was! She’s sweet and adorable and I hope she loves her new blanket and will have many wonderful memories with it.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment